Northland is set to have a third charter school after an announcement by the Minster of Education that four new charter schools, or “partnership” schools, would open around the country next year.

Te Kapehu Whetu (Teina), sponsored by He Puna Marama Charitable Trust, will be a co-educational primary school in Whangarei.

Nationally five charter schools opened in February this year, three in Auckland and two in Northland. The trust sponsoring the newest school already sponsors one of the Northland charter schools, Te Kura Hourua O Whangarei Terenga Paraoa, a Maori boys’ secondary school in Whangarei.

The second Northland charter school to open this year was Te Kura Hourua ki Whangaruru secondary school.


Originally published in the Northern Advocate, February 12, 2014